Voting Begins For The 10 Maha Legislative Council Members


On Monday morning, the Maharashtra Legislative Council started voting for 10 seats.

The polling began at 9 AM and will finish at 4 PM. The results will be announced in the evening.

There are 11 candidates for the 10 available seats. The Shiv Sena, Nationalist Congress Party, and Congress, which are all all ruling Maha Vikas Aghadi ally parties, have each fielded two candidates.

Five candidates have been nominated by the opposition BJP in the State.

The tenure of nine members of the Legislative Council will end on July 7th. However, the election for the 10th place was necessary due to the death earlier in the year of a BJP legislator.

The Legislative Council’s nine members who are retiring include its current Chairman Ramraje Naik Nimbalkar (both NCP) and Sanjay Dalund (both NCP), Leader in Opposition Pravin Darekar and Sujitsinh Thakur (both BJP), Sujitsinh Thakur and Prasad Lad, (both BJP), Maratha leader Vinayak Mete, and former minister Sadabhau Khot, both allies of BJP), Subhash Desai, and Diwakar Raote, Diwakar Raote (both Shiv Sena), Diwakar Raote, Diwakar Raote, Diwakar Raote, which is the Shiv Sena, Diwakar Raote,

After the death of BJP MLC R N Singh, the tenth seat was made vacant.

Ramraje Naik Nimbalkar, former minister Eknath Khhadse and Eknath Khadse have been elected to the NCP. They had both quit the BJP to become part of the Sharad Pawar-led party.

The Shiv Sena nominated Sachin Ahr and Amshya Pavi, who are party functionaries from the tribal-dominated Nandurbar District.

The Congress has elected Bhai Jagtap, chief of Mumbai Congress, and Chandrakant Handore, former minister.

The BJP nominated Darekar, Lad and other outgoing MLCs, and gave tickets to Shrikant Bharatiya, Uma Khapre, and Ram Shinde.

The electoral college for the MLC elections is made up of the state MLAs.

After the death of Shiv Sena MLA Ramesh Latke (Shiv Sena MLA Ramesh Latke), the Maharashtra Assembly’s effective strength is now 285 members. Two NCP MLAs, Nawab Malik & Anil Deshmukh are currently in jail. They are not permitted to vote by the high courts.

Share post:



More like this

Best Alternatives for Sleek Bill 2023- Vyapar: A Comprehensive Billing and Invoicing Software for 2023

Introduction: For businesses in India, especially small and medium-sized enterprises...

Engaging Your Audience with GIF Marketing Strategies

In today's fast-paced digital landscape, capturing and maintaining your...

7 Steps to Secure Your Data: Google Workspace Ultimate Security Guide

7 Steps to Secure Your Data: Google Workspace Ultimate Security...

HDFC Bank Joins Hands With Marriott Bonvoy® to Launch India’s First Co-brand Hotel Credit Card

Marriott Bonvoy HDFC Bank Credit Card will run on...