Nagpur : VPACON-2019 to begin today

Nagpur : New team of Vidarbha Psychiatric Association (VPA) will be installed on Saturday in during VPACON – 2019, annual conference. Conference will be inaugurated at 4 pm at Hotel Centre Point.

Dr Vivek Kirpekar, noted Psychiatrist will be installed as President while, Dr Sagar Chiddarwar, well-known psychiatrist will take charge as Honourary Secretary. Dr Gautam Saha, immediate past Honouarary Secretary of Indian Psychiatric Society will be chief guest.

Other office-bearers include Dr Anup Rathi, immediate Past President; Dr Nikhil Pande, Immediate Past Secretary; Dr Anand Kumar Dhoot, Vice-President; Dr Vidyut Khandewale and Dr Shrikant Meshram, Joint Secretaries; Dr Ratnakar Bandebuche, Treasurer. Executive Members- Dr Pradeep Awake, Dr Imran Ali Shivji, Dr Hemant Baxi, Dr Shibu Acharya, Dr Piyush Barlota, Dr Shilpa Anand Telgote, Dr Naresh Ingle, Dr Anupam Rathod, Dr Akshay Shinde. Advisory Committee – Dr Pramod Thakre, Dr Laxmikant Rathi, Dr Shrikant Deshmukh, Dr Sudhir Bhave, Dr Jayant Deshmukh.

Free paper and poster presentation will be held to be chaired by Dr Pawan Adatia, Dr Shibu Acharya, Dr Abhishek Somani. Dr Soumya Hegde, Geriatric Psychiatrist from Bengaluru will deliver lecture on ‘The Unforgettable Journey of One who has forgotten – a story of Dementia. Dr Rahul Tadke, Dr Pramod Thakre will chair the session.

Dr Bhaskar Mukherjee, Consultant Psychiatrist will speak on Cyberchondria, the session to be chaire by Dr Imran Ali Shivji and Dr Anup Rathi.

On Sunday, June 23, the session will begin with Dr Arti Bang, Consultant Psychiatrist, SEARCH, Gadchiroli speaking on challenges of Mental Health Services in Tribal population. Dr Shreyas Pendharkar, Consultant Psychiatrist, Akola will deliver lecture on ‘Applying latest brain research for productive work-life balance’. Session will be chaired by Dr G K Vankar and Dr K K Mishra.

Dr P S V N Sharma, Professor and Head, Department of Psychiatry, Manipal, Mangalore will talk on ‘Psychopathology of delusions’. Dr Praveer Waradkar and Dr Hemant Baxi will be the chairpersons.

Dr Bhushan Shukla, Child Psychiatrist of Pune will speak on Attention Deficit Hyper-Activity Disorder (ADHD). Dr Shrikant Deshmukh and Dr Nikhil Pande will chair the session.

Valedictory function will be held at 12.30 in the noon. Between 2 and 4 pm, a Post Graduate quiz will be held where Dr Praveen Navkhare and Dr Ashwin Bhattad will be chairpersons.

Dr Anup Rathi, VPA President; Dr Nikhil Pande VPA Honourary Secretary; Dr Rahul Tadke, President of Psychological Society Nagpur; Dr Preeti Bhute, Honourary Secretary of Psychological Society Nagpur have appealed medical fraternity to attend the programmes in large number.

Also Read : PhonePe goes live across 5 million offline merchants in India ; Offers exciting rewards for both merchants and customers